Korean Drama: Hwarang

Title:
Hwarang
Hwarang: The Poet Warrior Youth

Air Date:
December 19, 2016

Time Slot:
Monday & Tuesday AT 22:00

Network:
KBS2

Cast

Park Seo Joon
as Moo Myung (Rang Sun Woo)Hwarang-Park Seo-Joon01.jpg
Go Ara as A Ro
Hwarang-Go Ara01.jpg
Park Hyung Sik
as Sam Maek Jong (Ji Dwi Rang)
Hwarang-Park Hyung-Sik01.jpg
Choi Min Ho as Soo Ho Rang
Hwarang-Minho01.jpg
Do Ji Han as Ban Ryu Rang
Hwarang-Do Ji-Han01.jpg
Kim Tae Hyung as Han Sung Rang
Kim Tae-Hyung
Jo Yoon Woo as Yeo Wool Rang
Hwarang-Jo Yoon-Woo01.jpg
Kim Hyun Joon as Dan Se
Hwarang-Kim Hyun-Joon.jpg
Sung Dong Il as
Wi Hwa Kong (Wi Hwa Rang)
Hwarang-Sung Dong-Il.jpg
Choi Won Young as An Ji Gong
Hwarang-Choi Won-Young.jpg
Kim Kwang Kyu as Pi Joo Ki
Hwarang-Kim Kwang-Kyu.jpg
Lee Kwang Soo as
Mak Moon (Sun Woo)
Lee Kwang-Soo
Kim Ji Soo as Queen Ji So
Kim Ji-Soo

Plot (Summary): Seo Joon and Kwang Soo are best friends, and they grew up on the outer part of the capital. They both sneak into the capital in order to find Kwang Soo’s father. Hyung Sik is the king, but no one knows that he is the king. It is noticeable that he has a crush on Go Ara (LOL it seems awkward to just call her Ara). Well Seo Joon becomes her brother. The queen want to create a special force to watch over the king. The queen only wants flower boys who are the sons of public officials. The General, who is given full authority of the men, gathers them together. The queen enlists Seo Joon while the General enlists Hyung Sik as his special case addition. I’m not really sure the whole plot yet.

Opinion:
I feel so bad for saying this, but I can see that there are several people who are in the same situation. They are only watching this for BTS’s Kim Tae Hyung. When I first heard about this drama, I heard that Tae Hyung that was my main reason for watching this drama; however, it is not the only reason.

I tend to watch dramas with at least one of my favorite actors/actresses, and this drama happens to have Park Seo Joon which I LOVE DEARLY.

Park Seo Joon has been in some of my favorite dramas like “Kill Me, Heal Me”and “She Was Pretty”.

As for Go Ara, she was in “You’re All Surrounded” which was a really good show.

Choi Min Ho well he is none other than dibidibidis from SHINee!

Kim Tae Hyung is the main reason because he is from my bias group BTS, and my first bias in BTS. . . I love that kid and his personality. . (Min Yoongi has stolen the spotlight but I literally stan all seven of those dorks).

Although, I do not watch all of their dramas there are two actors who are like senior actors who are incredible funny when I see them in various dramas. I love this two senior actors: Sung Dong Il (The Legend of the Blue Sea, The K2, Scarlet Heart Ryeo, It’s Okay, That’s Love, Gap Dong) and Kim Kwang Kyu (Hot Young Bloods, Pinocchio, Boarding House No 24, Triangle, The Suspicious Housekeeper, I Can Hear Your Voice, Gentleman’s Dignity).

As you can see, I love a STRONG addiction to watching Korean Dramas. I have been watching them since 2012, I have even seen older Korean Dramas that aired before 2012.

Because of this addiction, I am very picky when it comes to Korean dramas that I watch. I usually tend to watch popular dramas, but I occasionally watch dramas that have low ratings.

Low rating does not necessarily mean it is a bad drama, it sometimes means that the drama is airing at the same time as a more popular drama.

Don’t get me wrong, but I have watched my fair share of bad dramas. Dramas that don’t hold my interest usually I stop midway or even less. When I watch a bad drama, I try my best to finish it, but sometimes it get hard to finish.

Not all popular dramas are good is one thing that I learned. I also learned that I have different tastes according to other people.

I have seen up to episode 4 (currently 29 December 2016). I will not lie and this is my opinion so don’t hate me but I find this drama kinda boring.

The end of episode 4 was sorta interesting.

I will continue to watch it; however, I will not be the very first to watch the episodes as it comes out.

I am sorry to say but this is not a show that I will watch as soon as I can.

Leave a comment